We're just a tiny part of Malaga’s history
Malaga’s strategic location has meant that our city, especially the port, has been a meeting point for ships from all over the world throughout history and continues to be so today. Even in Roman times, with the Flavian dynasty, visitors were seduced by the mild climate and trade offered by the small port, which gained impetus over time. The first stone was laid on 1 January 1588 when the construction of a new port commenced. The port and quays experienced constant changes and extensions over the course of the following century. Port traffic undoubtedly contributed to the city’s economy.
In the 18th century, the port saw one of its most important changes, by order of King Carlos III: the wall that separated the port and the city was sold, reuniting Malaga and locals with the sea. One of Muelle Uno’s most emblematic features is from that same era: La Capilla. It was inaugurated in 1725 and has been dismantled stone by stone and relocated on several occasions throughout history.
In 1817, our unique 38 m tall Farola (lighthouse) was completed, which was designed by Joaquín María Pery and has tirelessly lit the way for seafarers for more than 200 years.
In 1876, a project by R. Yagüe extended the port area with reclaimed land giving way to Parque de Málaga, a park that rekindled locals’ relationship with the sea and is today one of the city’s best known attractions. That’s how Muelle Uno came into existence, with the objective of bringing the sea into locals’ everyday lives.
Photos: Malaga City Council Archive